Introduction | Primitive Worlds |
Worlds of Trials & Purifications | Worlds of Regeneration |
Blissful | Celestial | Transitional



As our spirits evolve, do we continue to reincarnate, every time, here on Earth? Could there be life out there in other places of the universe? If so, what would it be like in comparison to life on Earth?

The spirits have answered these questions by telling us about the progress of planets and the evolutionary path of the inhabited worlds of God's creation.  

According to the law of progress, living beings progress morally and ethically, through the process of evolution and by means of reincarnation. This law, however, applies not only to living beings, but to all of creation, including the planets on which those beings live. The evolution of planets is one of material progress, and it coincides with the evolutionary level of each planet's inhabitants. Such progress occurs very gradually,  so that from one generation to the next, the small steps of advancement go unnoticed; yet over time, each planet makes its way along the inevitable, evolutionary path.

As this change occurs slowly, there is an abundance of intermediate states between the less developed and the more advanced worlds; therefore, it would be impossible to assign an absolute classification of every orb in the cosmos. However, based on the spirits' teachings, we identify five general groups, according to their dominant characteristics. The text to follow describes these groups, in order of evolutionary progress, based on excerpts taken from Kardec's "The Gospel Explained by the Spiritist Doctrine" (chapter 3).

Five General Stages of Inhabited Worlds
Primitive Worlds
Worlds of Trials and Purifications
Worlds of Regeneration
Blissful Worlds
Celestial or Divine Orbs
Transitional Worlds